top of page
  • Writer's picturephotogroupie


One of pop music's greatest composers has died aged 94.

With lyricist Hal David, he also wrote movie themes and over 50 chart hits in the UK and US.

His most popular songs included:

  • Magic Moments - Perry Como

  • I Say A Little Prayer - Aretha Franklin

  • I'll Never Fall In Love Again - Dionne Warwick

  • The Look of Love - Dusty Springfield

  • Close To You - The Carpenters

  • Walk On By - Dionne Warwick

  • Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head - BJ Thomas

  • 24 Hours From Tulsa - Gene Pitney

  • Make It Easy on Yourself - The Walker Brothers

  • I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself - Dusty Springfield

  • Alfie - Cilla Black

  • What's New, Pussycat? - Tom Jones

  • Arthur's Theme - Christopher Cross

  • Anyone Who Had A Heart - Dionne Warwick

He worked with artists such as Frank Sinatra, The Beatles, Barbra Streisand, Tom Jones, Aretha Franklin and Elvis Costello. He also won six Grammy Awards, three Oscars and two Golden Globes.

Dionne Warwick said: "These words I've been asked to write are being written with sadness over the loss of my Dear Friend and my Musical Partner.

Oscar-winning songwriter Diane Warren said the field had "lost its Beethoven", while film and TV composer David Arnold agreed he was "one of the greatest songwriters of all time".


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page