Forget box-sets and get The Book Set… British heavy metal legends, SAXON, are to release The Solid Book of Rock, on August 18th, 2017.

The set comprises not only all 9 of Saxon’s studio albums from 1991 to 2009 BUT eight bonus tracks AND two bonus CDs – “Classics Re-Recorded” originally issued with the initial pressings of “Killing Ground”, and “Lionheart – rough studio mix” originally issued on the 2006 limited edition. This metal-tastic Book Set also contains three bonus DVDs – the limited-edition DVDs originally released with “Lionheart”, “The Inner Sanctum” and “Into The Labyrinth”. All this, packaged in a sumptuous 24 page 12” x 12” booklet with all the lyrics and credits, plus photos with fabulous brand-new cover painting by Paul R. Gregory.

An exclusive limited-edition containing a print signed by the one and only Biff Byford will also be available from Amazon

Standard Edition -

Saxon frontman Biff Byford says: “It's worth getting just for the art work. A great piece of Saxon history and don't forget I get to play King Arthur I didn't get the Oscar that year or anything else for that matter….

The Solid Book of Rock comprises Saxon’s STUDIO ALBUMS 1991-2009 – that’s a massive 9 original albums PLUS 2 bonus CDs AND 3 bonus DVDs. The albums are:

  1. Solid Ball Of Rock

  2. Forever Free

  3. Dogs Of War

  4. Unleash The Beast

  5. Metalhead

  6. Killing Ground

  7. Lionheart

  8. The Inner Sanctum

  9. Into The Labyrinth

Book Set Full Tracklist & Bonus material are:

Solid Ball Of Rock (1991)

  1. Solid Ball Of Rock

  2. Altar Of The Gods

  3. Requiem (We Will Remember)

  4. Lights In the Sky

  5. I Just Can’t Get Enough

  6. Baptism Of Fire

  7. Ain’t Gonna Take It

  8. I’m On Fire

  9. Overture In B-Minor / Refugee

  10. Bavarian Beaver

  11. Crash Dive

Bonus Tracks: 12. Requiem (We Will Remember) [single version] 13. Reeperbahn Stomp

Forever Free (1992)

  1. Forever Free

  2. Hole In The Sky

  3. Just Wanna Make Love To You

  4. Get Down And Dirty

  5. Iron Wheels

  6. One Step Away

  7. Can’t Stop Rockin’

  8. Nighthunter

  9. Grind

  10. Cloud Nine

Bonus Tracks: 11. Princess Of The Night [live] 12. Forever Free [live]

Dogs of War (1995)

  1. Dogs Of War

  2. Burning Wheels

  3. Don’t Worry

  4. Big Twin Rolling (Coming Home)

  5. Hold On

  6. The Great White Buffalo

  7. Demolition Alley

  8. Walking Through Tokyo

  9. Give It All Away

  10. Yesterday’s Gone

Bonus Tracks: 11. The Great White Buffalo [live] 12. Denim And Leather [live]

Unleash The Beast (1997)

  1. Gothic Dreams

  2. Unleash The Beast

  3. Terminal Velocity

  4. Circle Of Light

  5. The Thin Red Line

  6. Ministry Of Fools

  7. The Preacher

  8. Bloodletter

  9. Cut Out The Disease

  10. Absent Friends

  11. All Hell Breaking Loose

Bonus Tracks: 12. Solid Ball Of Rock [live] on SPV 74192 CD in 2007 13. Crusader [live] on SPV 74192 CD in 2007

Metalhead (1999)

  1. Intro

  2. Metalhead

  3. Are We Travellers In Time

  4. Conquistador

  5. What Goes Around

  6. Song Of Evil

  7. All Guns Blazing

  8. Prisoner

  9. Piss Off

  10. Watching You

  11. Sea Of Life

Killing Ground (2001)

  1. Intro

  2. Killing Ground

  3. Court Of The Crimson King

  4. Coming Home

  5. Until Hell Freezes Over

  6. Dragon’s Lair

  7. You Don’t Know What You’ve Got

  8. Deeds Of Glory

  9. Running For The Border

  10. Shadows On The Wall

  11. Rock Is Our Life

Bonus CD – ‘Classics Re-Recorded’:

1. Princess Of The Night

2. Crusader

3. Wheels Of Steel

4. Motorcycle Man

5. Strong Arm Of The Law

6. Denim And Leather

7. Dallas 1pm

8. And The Bands Played On

Lionheart (2004)

  1. Witchfinder General

  2. Man And Machine

  3. The Return

  4. Lionheart

  5. Beyond The Grave

  6. Justice

  7. To Live By The Sword

  8. Jack Tars

  9. English Man O’War

  10. Searching For Atlantis

  11. Flying On The Edge

Bonus CD:

Studio Audio – Rough Mix [moved from the DVD]

1. Witchfinder General

2. Man And Machine

3. The Return

4. Lionheart

5. Beyond The Grave

6. Justice

7. To Live By The Sword

8. Jack Tars

9. English Man O’War

10. Searching For Atlantis

11. Flying On The Edge

12. Beyond The Grave [single version]

Bonus DVD:

1. Lionheart – in the studio [3.32]

2. Lionheart – live [7.40]

3. Beyond The Grave – promo video [3.45]

4. 5.1 96k high end sound mix of the entire album [11 tracks] [45.09]

The Inner Sanctum (2007)

  1. State Of Grace

  2. Need For Speed

  3. Let Me Feel Your Power

  4. Red Star Falling

  5. I’ve Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)

  6. If I Was You

  7. Going Nowhere Fast

  8. Ashes To Ashes

  9. Empire Rising

  10. Attila The Hun

Bonus DVD: “A Night Out With The Boys” [41.26]

1. To Hell And Back Again

2. A Night Out With Boys – The Idea

3. A Night Out With Boys – Not Really

4. See The Light Shining

5. A Night Out With Boys – How It Started

6. Redline

7. Suzie Hold On

8. Stand Up And Be Counted

9. Frozen Rainbow

10. Never Surrender

Into the Labyrinth (2009)

  1. Battalions Of Steel

  2. Live To Rock

  3. Demon Sweeney Todd

  4. The Letter

  5. Valley Of The Kings

  6. Slow Lane Blues

  7. Crime Of Passion

  8. Premonition In D Minor

  9. Voice

  10. Protect Yourselves

  11. Hellcat

  12. Come Rock Of Ages (The Circle Is Complete)

  13. Coming Home [bottleneck version]

Bonus DVD:

1. “Perceval” – Spanish art film, directed by Pablo Aragues Millan [20.09] [in Latin with subtitles]

(Biff plays King Arthur)

2. “Let There Be Light” – documentary about the live staging and lighting [36.48] [in German with subtitles]

3. Audio interview with Biff Byford – Biff talks about the songs on “Into The Labyrinth” [18.44]


top posts

Be a Groupie and follow us
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

Artist A-Z Quick Link

 ©  2012 - 2020 All Rights Reserved. Reproduction without explicit permission is prohibited.  Click here to contact us.

All trademarks and/or logos within the content of are respectfully acknowledged and remain the property of their trademark owners.



Photogroupie logo designed by Gerry Driver with vectors adapted from

Camera lens by webdesignhot lips by Dave