top of page
  • Writer's picturephotogroupie


Wendy James Studio Album: “The Price Of The Ticket” Release date: 19th February 2016 featuring members of The Patti Smith Group, Sex Pistols, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Iggy & The Stooges. “Wendy James’ new album ‘The Price Of The Ticket’ is brave and tender, artful and wild, where courage and the dream of love give promise. A wild, moving, shocking, hilarious, raging, exhilarating, giant of an album. A dazzling performance that listeners will delight in, it is intelligent, witty, irresistibly relentless and forthright”. - preview review from Village Voice, USA

Wendy James new solo LP ’The Price Of The Ticket’ was recorded in NYC and mixed in Berkeley CA. The players on this album are a bona-fide line-up from all-time Punk and New Wave bands. Wendy James on vocals, rhythm guitars and keys is joined by Lenny Kaye (The Patti Smith Group) (Lead & Rhythm Guitar), Glen Matlock (Sex Pistols) (Bass), James Sclavunos (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds) (Drums), James Williamson (Iggy & The Stooges (Lead & Rtythm Guitar, Bass Guitar) and Steve Mackay (Iggy & The Stooges) (Baritone Sax). It’s testament to the strength of “The Price Of The Ticket” that it has attracted such a stellar list of players. The album has a distinct and unique thread running through a collection of quirky songs infused with melody and hooks. All songs are written and produced by Wendy James, tracks 12 and 13 are cover versions of songs written Fred ‘Sonic’ Smith (MC5/Sonic’s Rendezvous Band) and Bob Dylan respectively. The album is available for pre-order now via Pledge Music Wendy James has evolved in music legacy to where her first band Transvision Vamp is an iconic and collectable favorite and her new music is constantly a push for ever more current attitude and talent, followed and bought by proceeding generations of Alt-Rock n Roll fans the world over. Cited by Miley Cyrus as her original pin-up and at the same time being on par with Patti Smith as an uncompromising artist, songwriter and musician. Originally from London, now resident of NYC, she has achieved what few can or have: longevity and a forward motion trajectory in New Wave Garage Rock. The release of ’The Price Of The Ticket’ will include all formats: LP Vinyl, CD and Digital Download. The package is presented with arresting and beautiful artwork by Kym Ellery and Roze Hooij. Tracklisting as follows: 1 PALOMA’S DOWNS 2 INDIGENT BLUES 3 KING RAT 4 LOVE FROM THE 9TH 5 BAD INTENTIONS AND A BIT OF CRUELTY 6 YOU’RE A DIRTBOMB, LESTER 7 SCREAMIN’ BACK WASHINGTON 8 WHY OH WHY DO YOU HURT ME STILL? 9 FAREWELL TO LOVE 10 COWBOY RHYTHM 11 SITUATION NORMAL AT SURFRIDER 12 YOU’RE SO GREAT 13 IT’S ALRIGHT MA Wendy James will be touring in 2016. The first UK dates in early 2016 have been announced with more to follow. The setlist will include songs from this album, some choice cuts from previous solo work and some favorites from Transvision Vamp. The live band will feature Wendy James (Vocals, Rhythm Guitar, Keys), Louis Elliot (Grace Jones) (Lead & Rhythm Guitar), James Meynell (Racine) (Bass), James Sclavunos (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds) (Drums) and special guest players… UK Dates 2016 confirmed so far Saturday 13th February Kilmarnock, Bellfield Tavern Monday 15th February London, Rough Trade East - Album Launch gig Monday 15th February London Old Blue Last - Album Launch gig Wed 17th February Ramsgate, Music Hall PLEDGE: FACEBOOK: TWITTER: INSTAGRAM: SOUNDCLOUD: TUMBLR: YOUTUBE: Wendy James’ ’The Price Of The Ticket’ is out on the 19th February 2016.


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page